Landscape Architect Continuing Education

2007 Wisconsin Act 47 established continuing education requirements for landscape architects:

Landscape architects must now affirm at the time of renewal to having completed 24 hours of continuing education pertinent to the practice of landscape architecture. Of the 24 hours, a minimum of 16 hours relating to health, safety and welfare topics, and a minimum of 2 hours relating to professional conduct and ethics are required every two years. 

A new licensee shall not be required to comply with continuing education requirements for the first renewal.

Continuing education may be obtained through the following providers:

  1. American society of landscape architects.
  2. Council of landscape architectural boards.
  3. Urban land institute.
  4. American nursery and landscape association.
  5. American planning association.
  6. National society of professional engineers.
  7. National recreation and park association.
  8. American institute of architects.
  9. Construction specifications institute.
  10. State or federal training programs that relate to landscape architecture, course work in landscape architecture at a college, or other related technical or professional societies or organizations.
  11. Colleges, universities or other educational institutions.

See Administrative Code for more details.

NOTE: Continuing education requirements do not apply to the biennium in which a license is first issued. 

If you are seeking a retirement waiver per A-E 11.07, you must submit a letter addressed to the Landscape Architect section outlining the reasons you are requesting the waiver along with a completed affidavit of non-practice.

Affidavit of Non-Practice

Biennium from 8/1/even - 7/31/even year.