Dentistry Examining Board

The Dentistry Examining Board is created in Wis. Stat. § 15.405(6) and has authority as outlined in Wis. Stat. ch. 447.

Executive Director: Erin Karow


The members of the Dentistry Examining Board are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Legislature to serve 4-year terms. The Board consists of 6 licensed dentists, 3 licensed dental hygienists and 2 public members.

MemberOfficerMember TypeTerm Expiration
Beres, Debra J.ChairpersonDental Hygienist Member7/1/2020
Pietz, Wendy M.Vice ChairpersonDentist Member7/1/2021
​Bistan, Matthew R.SecretaryDentist Member7/1/2021
​Bahr, Lisa R.​Dental Hygienist Member​7/1/2022
​Braden, Mark T.​Dentist Member​7/1/2018*
​Callen, Christopher​Public Member​7/1/2018
​Kaske, Herbert M.Dentist Member​7/1/2022
Huck, LeonardoDentist Member​​7/1/2021
​Myers, Dennis​Public Member​7/1/2020
Schrubbe, Katherine F.Dental Hygienist Member7/1/2022
Sheild, Peter J.Dentist Member7/1/2022

*Board Members whose terms have expired may continue to serve until their successor is confirmed by the Senate.


Dentist Continuing Education – New Requirement

Effective as of 10/1/2017, pursuant to DE 13.03 (1m), the 30 credit hours of continuing education shall include 2 hours in the topic of responsible prescribing of controlled substances for the treatment of acute dental pain.  This first applies to the biennium ending in 2019.

​Best Practices for Prescribing Controlled Substances Guidelines

On October 1, 2016, Chapter DE 10, Mobile Dentistry was created:
Chapter DE 10

Please review the following update:
NTSB Information on Risk of Pilot Impairment

Last updated: 12/4/2018