Licensed Midwives

License Information

Per Wis. Stat. § 440.08 (2), the required renewal date for the Licensed Midwives credential is 06/30/even years.  Should you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to this date, you are still required to renew your license by the statutorily defined date.

An applicant who fails to comply with a request for information related to the application, or fails to meet all requirements for a permit within 120 calendar days from the date of filing shall submit a new application and fee if a permit is sought at a later date.

  • All Licensed Midwives must be registered with the State Vital Records Office, Division of Public Health in the Department of Health and Family Services in order to file birth certificate information:
    Wisconsin Vital Records
    P.O. Box 309
    Madison, WI 53701

Pre-Credential Education Information

Obtain certification from one of the following:

Obtain certification for use of automated external defibrillators (AED's), through a program approved by the Wisconsin Department of Health Services (DHS).


Temporary Permit

A temporary permit allows the applicant to practice midwifery under the direct supervision of a licensed midwife pending successful completing the requirements for a license.

  • An applicant may receive a temporary permit by completion of all application requirements and payment of a $10.00 fee. 
  • The permit is valid for three (3) years, or until the permit holder ceases to be currently registered or actively engaged as a candidate for nation certification, whichever comes first.
  • Temporary permits may be renewed once at the Department's discretion for a period of no more than three (3) years. A permit holder seeking renewal must submit documentation to the Department that satisfies the requirements for an initial permit.

Application for Licensure

FormDescription
2792

Application for Licensed Midwife
2790​Request for Temporary Permit for Licensed Midwife
3194Request for Verification of Preceptorship-Apprentice Relationship
​2793​Request for Verification of Certification
2829

Malpractice Suits or Claims Form (If applicable)
2252

​Convictions and Pending Charges
3071​Fax Payment Form

Renewal Information

Requirements

  • FEE (See Renewal Dates and Fees)
  • NTL (National Certification is required)
  • CPR (current CPR/AED certification is required)
  • If your legal status as a qualified alien or nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States has changed since the issuance of your credential or your last renewal, please contact the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services at (608) 266-2112 or dsps@wisconsin.gov.

Renewal Methods

  • Online Log In: License Renewal Online
  • Request a Paper Renewal Form: (888) 506‑4239 or (608) 261‑4460 for the Madison area
FormDescription
RDAFRenewal Dates and Fees
R210Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension

Wisconsin Act 210 (effective June 1, 2012)

This Act extends the license of a service member if the license expires while they are on active duty from 90 days to 180 days from the date of discharge. The same applies to a spouse of a service member if the spouse does not practice under their license while the service member is on active duty and does not practice because the service member is on active duty.

This Act repeals a provision of prior law that required a service member to meet all of the requirements for license extension or renewal, except for continuing education requirements, in order to have the license extended.

Service members and spouses may request extensions of licenses beyond 180 days from discharge and may request a waiver or extension of time to complete continuing education requirements due to hardship. Please view Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension Form #R210.