Architect

License Information

Per Wisconsin State Statutes 440.08 (2), the required renewal date for the Architect credential is 07/31/even years.  Should you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to this date, you are still required to renew your license by the statutorily defined date.

An application is not required to be submitted to the DSPS to take the ARE.  Applicants must submit Application for Architect Registration (Form #1737) after all parts of the ARE are completed.

Licensure by Comity (For Architects Licensed by Another State)

An applicant may apply for registration if he or she has an unexpired registration in another state in which registration requirements are not lower than those in Wisconsin. The applicant must pass the NCARB Architect Registration Examination and have 7 years of architectural experience (education included). Applicants may apply by using NCARB Council Record or by direct application.  Details on the process can be found on the application Form #1737.

Temporary Permit:

Applicants may be eligible for a temporary permit to proceed with a pending project during the time it takes to process an application for registration. The Examining Board may, upon completion of the required fee, grant a permit to practice or to offer to practice architecture to a person who is not a resident of and has no established place of business in this state, or who has recently become a resident of this state, if the person holds an unexpired certificate of similar registration issued to the person by the proper authority in any state or territory or possession of the United States when the requirements for the registration of architects are of a standard not lower than specified in Wis. Stats. § 443. Average determination period on temporary permit is 10 days.

Registration Seals:  As a credential holder with this Board, you are required to obtain a personal registration seal in compliance with the specifications outlined in Wis. Admin. Code § A-E 2.02.  It is the credential holder's responsibility to obtain a seal, which should only include the numbers before the dash (i.e. 30666-006, 8178-005).  The inner circle area of the seal must include the credential holder's name, credential number, and the city and state where the credential holder resides or is employed.  This information serves as a basis for locating the credential holder and should be the same as the mailing address on file with the Board office (i.e. if the credential holder's address is Memphis, TN, then Memphis, TN must be placed on the inner circle).

Submission of Plans for State Approval

Questions regarding the submission of plans for state approval should be directed to the Safety and Buildings Division of DSPS at (608) 266-3151.

  

Certificate of Authorization

A firm, partnership or corporation requesting a certificate of authorization shall submit a completed application and fee to the Department.  See Architectural, Engineering or Designer of Engineering Systems, Corp Certificate for more information.


Pre-Credential Education Information

Route 1 : Combination of Education and Experience

A diploma of graduation or a certificate, from an architectural school or college approved by the examining board as of satisfactory standing, together with at least 2 years' practical experience of a character satisfactory to the examining board in the design and construction of buildings;

-OR-

Route 2 : Experience Only

A specific record of 7 or more years of experience in architectural work of a character satisfactory to the examining board in the design and construction of buildings.

Note : A bachelor of architecture from an approved school or college shall be considered as equivalent to 5 years of experience, and the completion satisfactory to the examining board of each year of work in architecture in such school or college without graduation shall be considered equivalent to one year of experience. Graduation in a course other than architecture from an approved school or college shall be considered as equivalent to not more than 4 years of experience.

Foreign Education: The Board accepts foreign education. All transcripts must be professionally translated into English, indicating all courses taken and degree earned.

Fo

Certificate of Authorization

A firm, partnership or corporation requesting a certificate of authorization shall submit a completed application and fee to the Department.  See Architectural, Engineering or Designer of Engineering Systems, Corp Certificate for more information.

r more specifics see Wis. Admin. Code § A-E 3.03 and 3.04


Application for Licensure

FormDescription
1737Application for Architect Registration
463Experience Record
1947Equivalent Architectural Experience (Intern Development) Program Record of Experience
472Architect Applicant Appraisal Form (5 Appraisal Forms Required)
475Verification of Examination or Registration
​2288​Application for Credential Reinstatement
​2490​Applicant Appraisal Form for Reinstatement (3 Appraisal Forms Required)
​2489​Experience Record for Credential Reinstatement
2252​Convictions and Pending Charges
3071​Fax Payment Form

Application by Reinstatement (License Expired Five Years or More)

Submit application Form #2288, supporting documentation and fee as well as evidence that you have completed at least 24 hours of continuing education in the 2 years immediately prior to your application according to Wis. Admin. Code § 12.04(3).

Renewal Information

Requirements

  • FEE (See Renewal Dates and Fees)
  • SIG  (Signature regarding the completion of Continuing Education requirements, included in on-line renewal and paper form - see Continuing Education Information for details)
  • If your legal status as a qualified alien or nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States has changed since the issuance of your credential or your last renewal, please contact the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services at (608) 266-2112 or dsps@wisconsin.gov.

Renewal Methods

  • Online Log In: License Renewal Online
  • Request a Paper Renewal Form:  (888) 506‑4239 or (608) 261‑4460 for the Madison area

FormDescription
RDAFRenewal Dates and Fees

Wisconsin Act 210 (effective June 1, 2012)

This Act extends the license of a service member if the license expires while they are on active duty from 90 days to 180 days from the date of discharge. The same applies to a spouse of a service member if the spouse does not practice under their license while the service member is on active duty and does not practice because the service member is on active duty.

This Act repeals a provision of prior law that required a service member to meet all of the requirements for license extension or renewal, except for continuing education requirements, in order to have the license extended.

Service members and spouses may request extensions of licenses beyond 180 days from discharge and may request a waiver or extension of time to complete continuing education requirements due to hardship.  Please view Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension Form #R210.