Pursuant to 2017 Wisconsin Act 319, beginning August 1, 2018, an applicant for an initial credential may apply for a reduction of the initial credential fee that is equal to 10% of the initial fee. Qualification is based on the federal adjusted gross income being at or below 180% of the federal poverty guideline prescribed for the applicant's family household size by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. To determine eligibility please visit the United States Department of Health and Human Services website at https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines, prior to submitting Form 3217.
Wis. Stat. § 440.08 (2), the required renewal date for the Designer of Engineering Systems credential is 01/31/even years. Should you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to this date, you are still required to renew your license by the statutorily defined date.
Candidates who are over 35 years of age AND have attained 12 or more years of experience in Wisconsin are not required to take the examination. Experience acquired in another state cannot be used to satisfy this requirement.
As a credential holder with this Board, you are required to obtain a personal registration seal in compliance with the specifications outlined in
Wis. Admin. Code § A-E 2.02. It is the credential holder's responsibility to obtain a seal, which should only include the numbers before the dash (i.e. 30666-006, 8178-005). The inner circle area of the seal must include the credential holder's name, credential number, and the city and state where the credential holder resides or is employed. This information serves as a basis for locating the credential holder and should be the same as the mailing address on file with the Board office (i.e. if the credential holder's address is Memphis, TN, then Memphis, TN must be placed on the inner circle).
The letter designation for the field or subfield is as follows:
E – Electrical
F – Fire Protection
PSS – Private Sewage Systems H – HVAC P – Plumbing
Example: If the registration number is 30666-007 in the field of electrical design, the number on the seal would be D 30666 E.
Submission of Plans for State Approval
Questions regarding the submission of plans for state approval should be directed to the Safety and Buildings Division of DSPS at
Certificate of Authorization
A firm, partnership, or corporation requesting a certificate of authorization shall submit a completed application and fee to the Department. See
Architectural, Engineering, or Designer of Engineering Systems, Corp Certificate for more information.
Pre-Credential Education Information
Designer of Engineering Systems - Electrical, Fire Protection, HVAC, Plumbing, Private Sewage Systems
An applicant must have 7 years of approved experience in specialized engineering design work. No more than 4 of the 7 years may be equivalent academic training or apprenticeship as provided in
Wis. Stats § 443.07(2).
Completion of technological academic training or apprenticeship program may be considered equivalent to experience but may not exceed a total of 4 years.
Graduation from a course other than engineering technology shall be equivalent to 2 years of experience.
Application for Licensure
New Graduates/Exam Candidates must submit Form #2100 to be approved for examinations.
2100||Application for Electrical, Fire Protection, HVAC, Plumbing and Private Sewage System Examinations|
|3217||Application for Fee Reduction (This form must accompany the application for the credential)|
989||Designer of Engineering Systems Applicant Appraisal Form (3 Appraisal Forms Required)|
1897||Application for Designer of Engineering Systems Permit|
2288||Application for Credential Late Renewal (WI credential expired more than 5 years)|
2490||Applicant Appraisal Form for Late Renewal (WI credential expired more than 5 years) (3 Appraisal Forms Required)|
2489||Experience Record for Credential Late Renewal (WI credential expired more than 5 years)|
475||Verification of Examination or Registration|
3085||Application for Predetermination (Optional-Submit ONLY if you have been convicted of any felony, misdemeanor, or other violations of federal or state law in this state or any other and you desire a review of your conviction record before applying for a credential.)|
|2252||Convictions and Pending Charges|
|3071||Fax Payment Form|
Application by Late Renewal (License Expired More Than 5 Years)
Submit application Form #2288, supporting documentation and fee.