2017 Wisconsin Act 278, beginning August 1, 2018, prior to submitting an application for a credential, an individual may apply to the Department for a determination of whether the individual would be disqualified from obtaining the credential due to his or her conviction record. To apply for a predetermination, please fill out
Form #3085 and submit all required documentation specified on the form. Pursuant to
Wis. Stat. §
111.335(4)(e), the offenses or kinds of offenses that may result in a refusal, bar, or termination of licensure are published under Additional Resources on the left side of this page.
Pursuant to 2017 Wisconsin Act 319, beginning August 1, 2018, an applicant for an initial credential may apply for a reduction of the initial credential fee that is equal to 10% of the initial fee. Qualification is based on the federal adjusted gross income being at or below 180% of the federal poverty guideline prescribed for the applicant's family household size by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. To determine eligibility please visit the United States Department of Health and Human Services website at https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines, prior to submitting Form 3217.
Wis. Stat. § 440.08 (2), the required renewal date for the Electrologist credential is 03/31/odd years. Should you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to this date, you are still required to renew your license by the statutorily defined date.
Pre-Credential Education Information
The applicant has graduated from high school or has attained high school graduation equivalency as determined by the Department of Public Instruction; is participating in a program approved by the Examining Board; or is at least 18 years old and meets the ability to benefit rule under
20 USC 1091 (d).
An applicant completes at least
one of the following:
A course of instruction in electrology of at least 450 training hours in not less than 11 weeks and not more than 30 weeks, in a school of cosmetology or a school of electrology licensed under
Wis. Stat. § 440.62(3)(ar) or
(c), exempted under
Wis. Stat. § 440.61,
or accredited by an accrediting agency approved by the Board.
At least 450 training hours in not less than 11 weeks and not more than 30 weeks under the supervision of a electrology instructor certified under
Wis. Stat. § 440.63 (3)(am) or
or a licensed electorologist who is licensed as a cosmetology manager, in a licensed establishment that is also licensed as a specialty school of electrology under
Wis. Stat. §440.62 (4)(b).
All training hours must be obtained in a licensed establishment licensed under
Wis. Stat. § 440.62 (3)(ar).
Application for Licensure
If you are not licensed in another state, you must schedule an appointment for examination with the Department's contracted vendor,
DL Roope Administration Inc.
Application for Licensure by Endorsement
Pursuant to 2017 Wisconsin Act 81, all one-hour courses for endorsement applicants on Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Code relating to the practice of Cosmetology should be submitted for review to
List of Currently Approved Courses
3044||Certification of Training|
1681||Application for Licensure by Endorsement|
|3217||Application for Fee Reduction (If applying for a fee reduction, this form must accompany the application for the credential.)|
373||Verification of Licensure|
2168||Verification of Self-Employment|
3085||Application for Predetermination (Submit ONLY if you have been convicted of any felony, misdemeanor, or other violations of federal, state, or local law, including municipal ordinances, in this state or any other)|
2252||Convictions and Pending Charges|
3071||Fax Payment Form|
Application by Reinstatement (License Expired Five Years or More)
A person whose license has been expired for more than 5 years is required to pass the current licensing examination (written and practical) to demonstrate minimum competency in services and subjects substantially related to practice and public health and safety.
To request an approval letter to take the examination, please call or send an email to the Department with the following information: your name (prior names if your name has changed), your license number and your current address.
You will be required to submit the reinstatement fee to the Department of Safety & Professional Services after passing the examination.