Professional Geologist


Pursuant to 2017 Wisconsin Act 278, beginning August 1, 2018, prior to submitting an application for a credential, an individual may apply to the Department for a determination of whether the individual would be disqualified from obtaining the credential due to his or her conviction record.  To apply for a predetermination, please fill out Form #3085 and submit all required documentation specified on the form.  Pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 111.335(4)(e), the offenses or kinds of offenses that may result in a refusal, bar, or termination of licensure are published under Additional Resources on the left side of this page.

License Information

Fee Reduction

Pursuant to 2017 Wisconsin Act 319, beginning August 1, 2018, an applicant for an initial credential may apply for a reduction of the initial credential fee that is equal to 10% of the initial fee.  Qualification is based on the federal adjusted gross income being at or below 180% of the federal poverty guideline prescribed for the applicant's family household size by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. To determine eligibility please visit the United States Department of Health and Human Services website at, prior to submitting Form 3217.

Per Wisconsin State Statutes 440.08 (2), the required renewal date for the Geologist credential is 07/31/even years.  Should you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to this date, you are still required to renew your license by the statutorily defined date.

Pre-Credential Education Information

Applicants must have professional experience in geologic work, as described in Wis. Admin. Code § GHSS 2.04, of a character satisfactory to the examining board which demonstrates that the applicant is qualified to assume responsible charge of geologic work. This experience shall be at least:

  • 5 years, of which at least 2 years has been performed under the supervision of a person who is registered as a professional geologist in Wisconsin, or in another state or territory or possession of the United States, or in another country that has registration requirements for professional geologists that are substantially equivalent to the requirements in Wisconsin, or any other person determined to be qualified to have responsible charge of geologic work, OR
  • 7 years, (or 6 years with an advanced degree) with a satisfactory evaluation of the last 2 years of the experience under a peer review system approved by the Professional Geologist Section of the board.

One year of experience may be granted if an individual has one or more advanced degrees, approved by the examining board, in geology, geophysics, geochemistry, hydrogeology, engineering geology, geotechnical engineering, or a related geological science or a closely related field.

Applicants are required to have a bachelor's degree and at least 30 semester hours or 45 quarter hours of course credits in geology of a variety and nature sufficient to constitute a geology major, from a college or university approved by the examining board.

Application for Licensure

All new applicants must submit Application for Fundamentals and Principles and Practice Examinations (Form #2542) all supporting documents and fee to the Department to determine eligibility for the exam.

2542Application for Fundamentals and Principles and Practice Examinations
​2084​Application for Geologist, Hydrologist or Soil Scientist License
​3217​Application for Fee Reduction (If applying for a fee reduction, this form must accompany the application for the credential.)
2392Experience Record
2849Peer Review Evaluation Form
2913Supervised Experience Evaluation Form
2085Supplemental Form
​2086​Applicant Appraisal Form (5 Appraisal Forms Required)
2391​Verification of Examination or Registration
​3085​Application for Predetermination (Submit ONLY if you have been convicted of any felony, misdemeanor, or other violations of federal, state, or local law, including municipal ordinances, in this state or any other)
2252Convictions and Pending Charges
3071​Fax Payment Form

Application for Late Renewal (License Expired Five Years or More)

2722Application for Late Renewal (License Expired Five Years or More)
2723Applicant Appraisal Form for Late Renewal (3 Appraisal Forms Required)                                    (License Expired Five Years or More)​
2392Experience Record
2391Verification of Examination or Registration

Renewal Information


  • FEE (See Renewal Dates and Fees)
  • If your legal status as a qualified alien or nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States has changed since the issuance of your credential or your last renewal, please contact the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services at (608) 266-2112 or

Renewal Methods

RDAFRenewal Dates and Fees
​R210​Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension

Wisconsin Act 210 (effective June 1, 2012)

This Act extends the license of a service member if the license expires while they are on active duty from 90 days to 180 days from the date of discharge. The same applies to a spouse of a service member if the spouse does not practice under their license while the service member is on active duty and does not practice because the service member is on active duty.

This Act repeals a provision of prior law that required a service member to meet all of the requirements for license extension or renewal, except for continuing education requirements, in order to have the license extended.

Service members and spouses may request extensions of licenses beyond 180 days from discharge and may request a waiver or extension of time to complete continuing education requirements due to hardship.  Please view Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension Form #R210.