Limited X-Ray Machine Operator Permit

License Information

Per Wisconsin State Statutes 440.08 (2), the required renewal date for the Limited X-Ray Machine Operator Permit is 08/31/even years.  Should you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to this date, you are still required to renew your license by the statutorily defined date.

Wisconsin Statutes § 462, requires that any person who performs radiography or operates an X-Ray Machine or X-Ray Equipment, and is not exempt from the law, shall obtain a license or permit to perform radiography or limited scope radiographic procedures.

Requirements

  • Be at least 18 years of age.
  • Pass required limited scope exam(s). For information concerning the ARRT exams, please visit the following link https://www.arrt.org/.


Pre-Credential Education Information

  • Per Wis. Stat. § 462.03 (1)(b),Hold a high school diploma or its equivalent, as determined by the Board.
  • The educational requirements for a permit under this chapter shall be board−approved course of study provided through a Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology accredited program. An approved course of study shall include at minimum the American Society of Radiologic Technologists limited scope of practice curriculum.

Application for Licensure

FormDescription
2903Application For Limited X-Ray Machine Operator (LXMO) Permit
2990​Limited X-Ray Machine Operator (LXMO) Program Curriculum (This form must come directly from your school)
​2938​Limited X-Ray Machine Operator (This application is a request to take additional exam(s) or rewrite a failed exam(s). For initial licensure, please use Form #2903)
​2907​Verification of Radiographer or LXMO Credential
2829Malpractice Suits or Claims Form (if applicable)
2252

Convictions and Pending Charges
3071​Fax Payment Form

Renewal Information

Requirements

  • FEE (See Renewal Dates and Fees)
  • SIG (Signature regarding the completion of Continuing Education included in on-line renewal and paper form - see Continuing Education Information for details)
  • If your legal status as a qualified alien or nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States has changed since the issuance of your credential or your last renewal, please contact the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services at (608) 266-2112 or dsps@wisconsin.gov.

Renewal Methods

  • Online Log In: License Renewal Online
  • Request a Paper Renewal Form: (888) 506‑4239 or (608) 261‑4460 for the Madison area
FormDescription
RDAFRenewal Dates and Fees
R210Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension

Wisconsin Act 210 (effective June 1, 2012)

This Act extends the license of a service member if the license expires while they are on active duty from 90 days to 180 days from the date of discharge. The same applies to a spouse of a service member if the spouse does not practice under their license while the service member is on active duty and does not practice because the service member is on active duty.

This Act repeals a provision of prior law that required a service member to meet all of the requirements for license extension or renewal, except for continuing education requirements, in order to have the license extended.

Service members and spouses may request extensions of licenses beyond 180 days from discharge and may request a waiver or extension of time to complete continuing education requirements due to hardship. Please view Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension Form #R210.