Athletic Trainer

​​​ ​​​​Now Live: Easier Online License Applications!

LicensE, our new, online, self-guided occupational license application platform is now live! The list of licenses available via LicensE is available HERE​.  Starting on May 16, 2022, those applicants can apply at license.wi.gov.​

LicensE is for new, initial applications only. To renew your license, click HEREYou should not use LicensE to renew your license at this time.​


For additional information, please see the LicensE User Guides and Video page. ​Check back for updates, FAQs, and application tips.

​​License Information


Per Wis. Stat. § 440.08(2), the required renewal date for the Athletic Trainer credential is 06/30/even years.  Should you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to this date, you are still required to renew your license by the statutorily defined date.

Requirements


Pre-Credential Education Information

At least a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university is required.


Application for Licensure

FormDescription
2496Credentialing Information for Athletic Trainer Applicants​
3217
​Application for Fee Reduction (If applying for a fee reduction, this form must accompany Form #2496.)
2517Evaluation and Treatment Protocol Form (to be completed and filed at the place of employment)
2497Request For Verification of Certification
​2829Malpractice Suits or Claims Form (if applicable)
3085​Application for Predetermination (Optional-Submit ONLY if you have been convicted of any felony, misdemeanor, or other violations of federal or state law in this state or any other and you desire a review of your conviction record before applying for a credential.)​
2252​Convictions and Pending Charges (if applicable)
3071​Fax Payment Form

Renewal Information

Requirements

  • FEE (See Renewal Dates and Fees)
  • SIG (Signature regarding the completion of Continuing Education, included in on-line renewal and paper form see Continuing Education Information for details)
  • CPR (Current CPR/AED certification is required)
  • INS (Malpractice liability insurance is required. If renewing via paper form, you must also submit Form 2543.)
  • WHD (Work History is requested. If renewing via paper form, you must also submit Form 2543.)
  • EPF (Evaluation and Treatment Protocol Form 2517 is to be completed and filed at the place of employment. If renewing via paper form, you must also submit Form 2543.)
  • If your legal status as a qualified alien or nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States has changed since the issuance of your credential or your last renewal, please contact the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services at (608) 266-2112 or dsps@wisconsin.gov.

Renewal Methods

FormDescription
RDAFRenewal Dates and Fees
R210Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension
2543​Additional Requirements for Renewal
​2517​Evaluation and Treatment Protocol (to be completed and filed at the place of employment)
​​2254
​Convictions and Pending Charges (if applicable for renewal)

Wisconsin Act 210 (effective June 1, 2012)

This Act extends the license of a service member if the license expires while they are on active duty from 90 days to 180 days from the date of discharge. The same applies to a spouse of a service member if the spouse does not practice under their license while the service member is on active duty and does not practice because the service member is on active duty.

This Act repeals a provision of prior law that required a service member to meet all of the requirements for license extension or renewal, except for continuing education requirements, in order to have the license extended.

Service members and spouses may request extensions of licenses beyond 180 days from discharge and may request a waiver or extension of time to complete continuing education requirements due to hardship. Please view Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension Form R210 for further information.