Home Inspector

License Information

Fee Reduction

Pursuant to 2017 Wisconsin Act 319, beginning August 1, 2018, an applicant for an initial credential may apply for a reduction of the initial credential fee that is equal to 10% of the initial fee.  Qualification is based on the federal adjusted gross income being at or below 180% of the federal poverty guideline prescribed for the applicant's family household size by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. To determine eligibility please visit the United States Department of Health and Human Services website at https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines, prior to submitting Form 3217.

Per Wisconsin State Statutes 440.08 (2), the required renewal date for the Home Inspector credential is 12/14/even years. Should you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to this date, you are still required to renew your license by the statutorily defined date.


Application for Licensure

FormDescription
2466Application for Home Inspector Registration
​3217​Application for Fee Reduction (If applying for a fee reduction, this form must accompany the application for the credential.)
​3085​Application for Predetermination (Optional-Submit ONLY if you have been convicted of any felony, misdemeanor, or other violations of federal or state law in this state or any other and you desire a review of your conviction record before applying for a credential.)​
2252​Convictions and Pending Charges
3071​Fax Payment Form

Application by Reinstatement (License Expired Five Years or More)

​In order to reinstate a credential you must submit an application Form #2466 and fee to the Department, complete 40 hours of continuing education and pass the state examination.  The Department will send each applicant an application ID number and instructions via e-mail to take the state exam on-line. You must correctly answer at least 85% of the questions to pass. You may retake the exam as many times as you wish.

Renewal Information

Requirements

  • FEE (See Renewal Dates and Fees)
  • SIG  (Signature regarding the completion of Continuing Education requirements, included in on-line renewal and paper form - see Continuing Education Information for details.)
  • If your legal status as a qualified alien or nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States has changed since the issuance of your credential or your last renewal, please contact the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services at (608) 266-2112 or dsps@wisconsin.gov.

Renewal Methods

FormDescription
RDAFRenewal Dates and Fees
​R210​Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension

Wisconsin Act 210 (effective June 1, 2012)

This Act extends the license of a service member if the license expires while they are on active duty from 90 days to 180 days from the date of discharge. The same applies to a spouse of a service member if the spouse does not practice under their license while the service member is on active duty and does not practice because the service member is on active duty.

This Act repeals a provision of prior law ​​that required a service member to meet all of the requirements for license extension or renewal, except for continuing education requirements, in order to have the license extended.

Service members and spouses may request extensions of licenses beyond 180 days from discharge and may request a waiver or extension of time to complete continuing education requirements due to hardship. Please view Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension Form #R210.

Getting Certified to Work with Lead Based Paint

Training and certification are required for professionals who offer or conduct regulated lead-based paint activities in pre-1978 housing and child-occupied facilities. These activities include:

  • Abatement of Lead Hazards
  • Lead Testing, Inspection, and Risk Assessment
  • Most paint-disturbing renovation work (for example, replacing windows, scraping paint prior to re-painting)
  • Post renovation and post-abatement clearance (including dust wipe sampling to measure lead dust left behind)

By getting certified and working safely, you protect your own and others' health, and show professional responsibility. For more information about certification, visit the Wisconsin Department of Health Services​ website.​