Real Estate Broker

Pursuant to 2017 Wisconsin Act 278, beginning August 1, 2018, prior to submitting an application for a credential, an individual may apply to the Department for a determination of whether the individual would be disqualified from obtaining the credential due to his or her conviction record.  To apply for a predetermination, please fill out Form #3085 and submit all required documentation specified on the form.  Pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 111.335(4)(e), the offenses or kinds of offenses that may result in a refusal, bar, or termination of licensure are published under Additional Resources on the left side of this page.


License Information

2013 Wisconsin Act 288 became effective on April 18, 2014, and established new application and felony conviction requirements for individuals applying for their Real Estate Broker License.

Per Wis. Stat. § 440.08 (2), the required renewal date for the Real Estate Broker credential is 12/14/even years. Should you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to this date, you are still required to renew your license by the statutorily defined date.

Fee Reduction

Pursuant to 2017 Wisconsin Act 319, beginning August 1, 2018, an applicant for an initial credential may apply for a reduction of the initial credential fee that is equal to 10% of the initial fee.  Qualification is based on the federal adjusted gross income being at or below 180% of the federal poverty guideline prescribed for the applicant's family household size by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. To determine eligibility please visit the United States Department of Health and Human Services website at https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines, prior to submitting Form 3217.


Pre-Credential Education Information

To apply for a Real Estate Broker license, you must satisfy the educational requirements by submitting evidence of one of the following:

  • Complete the Board approved 72-hour pre-license education program for Brokers within four years before submitting the application for licensure.  Refer to Wis. Admin. Code § REEB 25.023 for more information about the 72-hour Broker pre-license program.

  • Complete 20 academic semester hour credits at an institution of higher learning in real estate or real estate related law.

  • Submit evidence that you are licensed to practice law in Wisconsin.


Reciprocal Applicants

According to Wis. Admin. Code § REEB 12.017(4), an applicant who is licensed as a broker in a state or territory that has entered into a reciprocal agreement with this state (Illinois and Indiana) shall be licensed according to the terms of the reciprocal agreement.


Endorsement Applicants (who have been Licensed in Another State for at Least 2 Years Within the last 4 Years)​

To apply for a Real Estate Broker license, you must satisfy the educational requirements by submitting evidence of one of the following:


Application for Licensure (Including Licenses Expired Five Years or More)

You may apply online using our Online Licensure Application System (OLAS) if this is your first license.

FormDescription
809Application for Real Estate Broker License
3217

Application for Fee Reduction (This form must accompany the application for the credential)

813Irrevocable Consent for Nonresidents (Non-Wisconsin residents only)
2688Verification of Examination or Registration (Endorsement applicants only)
3036​Addendum to OLAS for Real Estate Applicants
​3085​Application for Predetermination
2252​Convictions and Pending Charges
3071​Fax Payment Form
​812​Notice of Licensee Association with Firm - This form must be mailed to DSPS with a $10 transfer fee
​766​Notice of Termination of Licensee Association with Firm
3193​Notice of Broker Engaging in Independent Practice
814​Consent to Examine and Audit Trust Account
2358​Requirements for a Real Estate Trust Account Bookkeeping System

Renewal Information

Please Note: All Real Estate Brokers are required to satisfy the CE requirement during the biennium in which the person receives that license/credential, as they are no longer exempt from CE at their first renewal or any renewal, per the changes that became effective on October 1, 2015.  There are no CE exemptions for Brokers.

Requirements

  • FEE (See Renewal Dates and Fees)
  • HRS (Hours of Continuing Education - see Continuing Education Information for details.  If renewing via paper form #2920 is also required.
  • SIG (Signature regarding previous arrests/convictions/ and pending charges.  Depending upon your answer, you may need to complete form #2252, submit all requested documents as well as the $8.00 background check (CIB) fee.) 
  • If your legal status as a qualified alien or nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States has changed since the issuance of your credential or your last renewal, please contact the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services at (608) 266-2112 or dsps@wisconsin.gov.

Renewal Methods

  • Online Log In: License Renewal Online
  • Request a Paper Renewal Form: (888) 506‑4239 or (608) 261‑4460 for the Madison area

FormDescription
2920Continuing Education Addendum
​2252​Convictions and Pending Charges
R210​Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension
RDAFRenewal Dates and Fees

Wisconsin Act 210 (effective June 1, 2012)

This Act extends the license of a service member if the license expires while they are on active duty from 90 days to 180 days from the date of discharge. The same applies to a spouse of a service member if the spouse does not practice under their license while the service member is on active duty and does not practice because the service member is on active duty.

This Act repeals a provision of prior law that required a service member to meet all of the requirements for license extension or renewal, except for continuing education requirements, in order to have the license extended.

Service members and spouses may request extensions of licenses beyond 180 days from discharge and may request a waiver or extension of time to complete continuing education requirements due to hardship.  Please view Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension Form #R210.