Sign Language Interpreter - Advanced Deaf

​​License Information​

Per Wis. Stat. § 440.08 (2), the required renewal date for the Sign Language Interpreter Advanced Deaf credential is 08/31/odd years.  Should you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to this date, you are still required to renew your license by the statutorily defined date.

​Complete training and experience by one of the following methods and submit the Sign Language Interpreter Application, including all required documentation.  

  • Proof of earning an Associates degree or satisfies an alternative pathway for education as determined by the Department.
  • Evidence of holding a Certified Deaf Interpreter​ Certification issued by the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc. or an equivalent certification as determined by the Department.​

Application for Licensure

3227Credentialing Information for Sign Language Interpreter Advanced Deaf​ Applicants​
2928Sign Language Interpreter Certificate of Professional Education or Training Program Completion
2926Request for Verification of Membership And/or Certification of RID​
Exemption Request Form​
​3217​​Application for Fee Reduction (This form must accompany the application for the credential if requesting a fee reduction.)
3085​Application for Predetermination (Optional-Submit ONLY if you have been convicted of any felony, misdemeanor, or other violations of federal or state law in this state or any other and you desire a review of your conviction record before applying for a credential.)​
2252​Convictions and Pending Charges
2829​Malpractice Suits or Claims Form (if applicable)

Renewal Information


  • FEE (See Renewal Dates and Fee)
  • SIG (Signature regarding validity of credentials required to retain Sign Language Interpreter License)
  • If your legal status as a qualified alien or nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States has changed since the issuance of your credential or your last renewal, please contact the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services at (608) 266-2112 or

Renewal Method

RDAFRenewal Dates and Fees
R210Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension

Wisconsin Act 210 (effective June 1, 2012)

This Act extends the license of a service member if the license expires while they are on active duty from 90 days to 180 days from the date of discharge. The same applies to a spouse of a service member if the spouse does not practice under their license while the service member is on active duty and does not practice because the service member is on active duty.

This Act repeals a provision of prior law that required a service member to meet all of the requirements for license extension or renewal, except for continuing education requirements, in order to have the license extended.

Service members and spouses may request extensions of licenses beyond 180 days from discharge and may request a waiver or extension of time to complete continuing education requirements due to hardship. Please view Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension Form R210.