Now Live: Easier Online License Applications!
LicensE, our new, online, self-guided occupational license application platform is now live! The list of licenses available via LicensE is available
HERE. Anyone applying for an initial license for any of the credentials listed can apply at license.wi.gov.
Who can use LicensE? Applicants for initial health care licenses are our primary LicensE users, but we know many other organizations and institutions will need to submit documents through the platform. Anyone who is not an applicant or a DSPS employee is considered a LicensE third-party user. Third-parties include educational institutions, employers, testing centers, and any other individual or entity who needs to supply documentation on behalf of an applicant. Please see our Additional Resources for third-party user guides, demo videos, and more.
LicensE is for new, initial applications only. To renew your license, click HERE. You should not use LicensE to renew your license at this time.
If you already have a pending application, you should not apply again in LicensE. Note that applicants who apply multiple times will be charged for each application.
Wis. Stat. § 440.08 (2), the required renewal date for the Substance Abuse Counselor credential is 02/28/odd years. Should you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to this date, you are still required to renew your license by the statutorily defined date.
2017 Wisconsin Act 262, as of May 1, 2018, the requirements to obtain a Substance Abuse Counselor credential have changed.
Wisconsin State Statutes 440.08 (2), the required renewal date for the Substance Abuse Counselor credential is February 28th of each odd-numbered year. Should you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to this date, you are still required to renew your license by the statutorily defined date.
Complete 360 hours of specialized education
in substance use disorder through a post secondary institution or department approved education program.
- Complete and submit Application for Substance Abuse Counselor including all required documentation and pay required fee.
- DSPS reviews application and makes applicant eligible for the National Association for Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors (NAADC) examination. Examinations may be taken after completion of education, before experience is completed.
- Successful completion of required examinations.
- Submit verification of completion of 3,000 hours of work experience performing the 8 practice dimensions as a Substance Abuse Counselor, supervised as described in (Form #2749), within 5 years immediately preceding the date of application. 3,000 hours of work experience shall include the following:
- 1,000 hours in substance use disorder counseling with at least 500 hours is a one-on-one individual modality setting.
- A minimum of 200 hours of counseling during the 12 month period immediately proceeding the date of application, of which 100 hours shall have been completed using individual modality setting.
Pre-Credential Education Information
- Complete 360 hours of Substance use disorder specialized education through a post secondary institution or a department approved education program.
Educators: To apply for approval of a 360-hour comprehensive program, see application procedure:
Form 2848 - Application Instructions
Form 2784 - Course Application Information
- The training shall be in a comprehensive program or degree program approved by the Department, except for those having an accumulation of 100 or more hours as of March 1, 2007. An applicant who previously held a certificate from the Wisconsin Certification Board and can provide documentation of accumulation of 100 or more hours of approved specialized education as of March 1, 2007, may submit proof of completion of the balance of the 360 hours from sources other than a comprehensive program.
Application for Licensure
2743||Credentialing Information for Substance Abuse Counselor Applicants|
|3217||Application for Fee Reduction (If applying for a fee reduction, this form
must accompany the application for the credential.)|
2749||Affidavit Regarding Supervised Experience |
|2786||Credentialing Information for out-of-state Reciprocity Applicants (Reciprocity Information)|
3079||Certificate of Completion of Dept. Approved Comprehensive Substance Abuse Education Program (360 Hour Program) For applicants who have completed a Department approved 360 hour program|
2841||Education and Training Form for applicants who have completed 360 hours of specialized education|
3222||Information for Substance Abuse Professionals Late Renewal Applicants (For credentials expired five (5) years or more) |
2829||Malpractice Suits or Claims Form (If applicable)|
|3085||Application for Predetermination (Optional-Submit ONLY if you have been convicted of any felony, misdemeanor, or other violations of federal or state law in this state or any other and you desire a review of your conviction record before applying for a credential.)|
2252||Convictions and Pending Charges|
||Fax Payment Form|