Now Live: Easier Online License Applications and Renewals!
LicensE is your online, self-guided occupational license application platform.
Please review the helpful links below:
- Find step-by-step instruction for license renewal here.
- Find a list of license renewals available via LicensE in the chart on the LicensE Customer Information page.
- Find all licenses available via LicensE, plus user guides and other resources, on the LicensE Customer Information page.
- Anyone applying for an initial license for any of the credentials listed can apply at license.wi.gov.
Our LicensE Application Status Lookup tool makes it easier for employees, and helps academic advisors support students during the license application process. To access the Application Status Lookup tool, you will need the applicant's 10-digit PAR number. An applicant may provide the number to anyone who could support their application. Find more information in our news release about this tool.
Pursuant to 2017 Wisconsin Act 319, beginning August 1, 2018, an applicant for an initial credential may apply for a reduction of the initial credential fee that is equal to 10% of the initial fee. Qualification is based on the federal adjusted gross income being at or below 180% of the federal poverty guideline prescribed for the applicant's family household size by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. To determine eligibility please visit the United States Department of Health and Human Services website at https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines, prior to submitting Form 3217.
2013 Wisconsin Act 358 became effective August 1, 2014, and renamed Land Surveyors as Professional Land Surveyors, created new definitions for Professional Land Surveyors, and added exemptions for licensure.
Wisconsin State Statutes 440.08 (2), the required renewal date for the Professional Land Surveyor credential is 01/31/even years. Should you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to this date, you are still required to renew your license by the statutorily defined date.
As a credential holder with this Board, you are required to obtain a personal registration seal in compliance with the specifications outlined in
Wis. Admin. Code § A-E 2.02. It is the credential holder's responsibility to obtain a seal, which should only include the numbers before the dash (i.e. 30666-006, 8178-005). The inner circle area of the seal must include the credential holder's name, credential number, and the city and state where the credential holder resides or is employed. This information serves as a basis for locating the credential holder and should be the same as the mailing address on file with the Board office (i.e. if the credential holder's address is Memphis, TN, then Memphis, TN must be placed on the inner circle).
Submission of Plans for State Approval
Questions regarding the submission of plans for state approval should be directed to the Safety and Buildings Division of DSPS at (608) 266-3151.
Pre-Credential Education Information
Receive a bachelor's degree in professional land surveying of not less than 4 years from a college or university approved by the state where college or university is located and 2 years of satisfactory land surveying experience.
Receive a bachelor's degree in civil engineering of not less than 4 years from a college or university approved by the state where the college or university is located with at least 24 semester credits in courses concentrating on legal principles and technical aspects of land surveying and 2 years of satisfactory professional land surveying experience.
Receive an associate degree with at least 60 semester credits in a civil engineering or land surveying curriculum including 12 semester credits in professional land surveying and 4 years of satisfactory professional land surveying experience.
Information regarding reciprocity is available here.
Application for Licensure
|Information for Professional Land Surveyor Wisconsin Jurisdictional Examination
|Professional Land Surveyor License Application Information
|Application for Fee Reduction (If applying for a fee reduction, this form must accompany the application for the credential.)
|Professional Land Surveyor Applicant Appraisal Form (5 Appraisal Forms Required)
|Information for Credential Late Renewal (License Expired More Than 5 Years)
|Applicant Appraisal Form for Late Renewal (3 Appraisal Forms Required)
(License Expired More Than 5 Years)
|Experience Record for Credential Late Renewal (License Expired More Than 5 Years)
|U.S. Public Land Survey Monument Record
|Verification of Examination or Registration
|Application for Predetermination (Optional-Submit ONLY if you have been convicted of any felony, misdemeanor, or other violations of federal or state law in this state or any other and you desire a review of your conviction record before applying for a credential.)
|Convictions and Pending Charges
Application for Late Renewal (License Expired Five Years or More)
Submit online application, supporting documentation, fee, and evidence that you have completed at least 20 hours of continuing education in the 2 years immediately prior to your application according to
Wis. Admin. Code § 10.03.