2017 Wisconsin Act 278, beginning August 1, 2018, prior to submitting an application for a credential, an individual may apply to the Department for a determination of whether the individual would be disqualified from obtaining the credential due to his or her conviction record. To apply for a predetermination, please fill out
Form #3085 and submit all required documentation specified on the form. Pursuant to
Wis. Stat. §
111.335(4)(e), the offenses or kinds of offenses that may result in a refusal, bar, or termination of licensure are published under Additional Resources on the left side of this page.
Pursuant to 2017 Wisconsin Act 319, beginning August 1, 2018, an applicant for an initial credential may apply for a reduction of the initial credential fee that is equal to 10% of the initial fee. Qualification is based on the federal adjusted gross income being at or below 180% of the federal poverty guideline prescribed for the applicant's family household size by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. To determine eligibility please visit the United States Department of Health and Human Services website at https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines, prior to submitting Form 3217.
Wisconsin State Statutes 440.08 (2), the required renewal date for the Hearing Instrument Specialist credential is 01/31/odd years. Should you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to this date, you are still required to renew your license by the statutorily defined date.
- Must be 18 years of age.
- Candidates must have a high school education or education equivalent to a 4-year course in an accredited high school.
- Complete and submit the Application for Hearing Instrument Specialist, including all required documentation.
- Pass required examinations. (Your DSPS application must be completed 30 days prior to the examination date.)
An applicant who meets all requirements for examination may be granted a temporary trainee permit to practice fitting of hearing aids for a period of one (1) year. The practical examination must be taken and passed prior to the expiration of this permit.
It is highly recommended that all exam candidates contact the Department for a temporary trainee permit. A temporary trainee permit allows candidates to practice fitting hearing instruments, make ear impressions and measurements of human hearing for the purpose of fitting hearing instruments for a period of one year while under the direct supervision of a licensed Hearing Instrument Specialist. Candidates who have not had a temporary trainee permit and experience will be at a significant disadvantage in being prepared to take the practical and written examinations for licensure. A person holding a valid Hearing Instrument Specialist license shall be responsible for the direct supervision and training of the applicant and shall be liable for all negligent acts and omissions of the trainee in the fitting of hearing aids. Please note that the name of the licensee who will be supervising the trainee must appear on the face of the temporary permit.
Application for Licensure
533||Application for Hearing Instrument Specialists License|
|3217||Application for Fee Reduction (If applying for a fee reduction, this form must accompany the application for the credential.)|
2028||Hearing Instrument Specialist Temporary Trainee Permit Request|
2829||Malpractice Suits or Claims Form (if applicable)|
3085||Application for Predetermination (Submit ONLY if you have been convicted of any felony, misdemeanor, or other violations of federal, state, or local law, including municipal ordinances, in this state or any other)|
|2252||Convictions and Pending Charges|
|3071||Fax Payment Form|