Now Live: Easier Online License Applications and Renewals!
LicensE is your online, self-guided occupational license application platform.
Please review the helpful links below:
- Find step-by-step instruction for license renewal here.
- Find a list of license renewals available via LicensE in the chart on the LicensE Customer Information page.
- Find all licenses available via LicensE, plus user guides and other resources, on the LicensE Customer Information page.
- Anyone applying for an initial license for any of the credentials listed can apply at license.wi.gov.
Our LicensE Application Status Lookup tool makes it easier for employees, and helps academic advisors support students during the license application process. To access the Application Status Lookup tool, you will need the applicant's 10-digit PAR number. An applicant may provide the number to anyone who could support their application. Find more information in our news release about this tool.
Temporary Act 10 Credential
A health care provider credentialed in good standing in another state may apply for a temporary credential to provide services in Wisconsin while a Wisconsin application for a permanent credential is pending. See information sheet 2021-A101, Form 2021-A102: Health Care Employer Notification, and our Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) for further details.
Wis. Stat. § 440.08 (2), the required renewal date for the Speech-Language Pathologist credential is 01/31/odd years. Should you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to this date, you are still required to renew your license by the statutorily defined date.
An applicant must complete the postgraduate clinical fellowship in speech-language pathology.
Before commencing a postgraduate clinical fellowship, an applicant must obtain a temporary license under
Wis. Stat. § 459.24(6). The applicant must submit an application with all supporting documents and fees, including evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant has completed one of the following:
A supervised clinical practicum and received a master's degree in speech-language pathology from a college or university approved by the board.
Education or training that the board determines is substantially equivalent to the completion of the requirements under sub. 1.
If applying for a temporary license to practice speech-language pathology, an application to take the next available examination for licensure as a speech-language pathologist required under s. 459.26 (2) (a), Stats.
A temporary license is valid for a period designated by the board, not to exceed 18 months and may be renewed once for 18 months or longer, at the discretion of the board.
Per Wisconsin State Statutes 440.08 (2), the required renewal date for the Speech-Language Pathologist credential is January 31st in odd-numbered years. Should you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to this date, you are still required to renew your license by the statutorily defined date.
Pre-Credential Education Information
Complete a supervised clinical practicum and receive a master's degree in speech-language pathology from a college or university approved by the examining board or complete education or training that the board determines is substantially equivalent to the completion of those requirements.
Application for Licensure
1987||Credentialing Information for Speech-Language Pathology Applicants|
|3217||Application for Fee Reduction (If applying for a fee reduction, this form must accompany the LicensE credential application.)|
1984||Speech-Language Pathology Certificate of Professional Education Form (This form must be completed by your school.)|
1979||Application for Temporary License to Practice Speech Language Pathology|
1976||Request for Verification of Certification Form (Complete and forward to the American Speech-Language Hearing Association.)|
2829||Malpractice Suits or Claims Form (if applicable)|
|3085||Application for Predetermination (Optional-Submit ONLY if you have been convicted of any felony, misdemeanor, or other violations of federal or state law in this state or any other and you desire a review of your conviction record before applying for a credential.)|
2252||Convictions and Pending Charges (if applicable)|