Physical Therapist

License Information

Per Wis. Stat. § 440.08 (2), the required renewal date for the Physical Therapist credential is 02/28/odd years.  Should you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to this date, you are still required to renew your license by the statutorily defined date.


  • Complete Education.         
  • Complete and submit appropriate application forms, including all required documentation and fee(s).
    • An exam applicant for a permanent license may apply for a temporary license at the same time, but must pay both fees and meet the following conditions:
      • Be a graduate of an approved school and be scheduled to take the  National Physical Therapy Examination or be awaiting examination results.
      • The applicant also must be someone who is not required to take an oral examination.
      • The holder of a temporary license may practice physical therapy providing that the entire practice be under the direct supervision of a person validly holding a regular license to practice physical therapy in Wisconsin.
    • A locum tenens license is available for a 90-day period to qualified individuals.  A person who holds an active license to practice physical therapy issued by another licensing jurisdiction of the United States may apply to the Board for a locum tenens license.
  • Determination made of eligibility to sit for the NPTE. You must register directly and pay the required fees with Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) to take the examination or request a score transfer.

Pre-Credential Education

Graduate from a school of physical therapy approved by the Board unless the Board waives this requirement. Foreign-trained physical therapy candidates must obtain verification of educational equivalency from a Board approved foreign graduate evaluation service.

Application for Licensure

3195Application for License to Practice Physical Therapy or as a Physical Therapist Assistant
3196Physical Therapy or Physical Therapist Assistant Certificate of Professional Education This form must be completed by your school.
3197​Request for Temporary License for Physical Therapy or Physical Therapist Assistant (new graduate only)
563​Application for Locum Tenens License to Practice Physical Therapy
2829Malpractice Suits or Claims Form (if applicable)
2252​Convictions and Pending Charges
3071​Fax Payment Form

Renewal Information


  • FEE (See Renewal Dates and Fees)
  • SIG (Signature regarding the completion of Continuing Education, included in on-line renewal and paper form see Continuing Education Information for details)
  • If your legal status as a qualified alien or nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States has changed since the issuance of your credential or your last renewal, please contact the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services at (608) 266-2112 or

Renewal Methods

  • Online Log In: License Renewal Online
  • Request a Paper Renewal Form: (888) 506‑4239 or (608) 261‑4460 for the Madison area
RDAFRenewal Dates and Fees
R210Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension

Wisconsin Act 210 (effective June 1, 2012)

This Act extends the license of a service member if the license expires while they are on active duty from 90 days to 180 days from the date of discharge. The same applies to a spouse of a service member if the spouse does not practice under their license while the service member is on active duty and does not practice because the service member is on active duty.

This Act repeals a provision of prior law that required a service member to meet all of the requirements for license extension or renewal, except for continuing education requirements, in order to have the license extended.

Service members and spouses may request extensions of licenses beyond 180 days from discharge and may request a waiver or extension of time to complete continuing education requirements due to hardship. Please view Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension Form #R210.