Optometrist

License Information

Per Wis. Stat. § 440.08 (2), the required renewal date for the Optometrist credential is 12/14/odd years.  Should you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to this date, you are still required to renew your license by the statutorily defined date.​


Pre-Credential Education Information

Applicants must have graduated from an accredited optometric college.


Application for Certification for DPA/TPA

  • Diagnostic Pharmaceutical Agent (DPA) Certificate: An optometrist may obtain a DPA certificate if the following requirements are met:
    • A plan is established for the referral of patients who experience adverse reactions from the application of topical ocular diagnostic pharmaceutical agents to appropriate medical services;
    • Successfully complete 60 classroom hours of study in general and ocular pharmacology as it relates to optometry, 30 of which must be in ocular pharmacology;
    • Successfully complete the clinical pharmacology exam of national boards; Parts I and II of the National Board exam administered after 1986, or an approved exam through the optometry school which provided the 60 classroom hours; and
    • Submittal of a complete application with required documentation.  No fee is charged for a DPA certificate.
  • Therapeutic Pharmaceutical Agent (TPA) Certificate: An optometrist may obtain a TPA certificate if the following requirements are met:
    • DPA certification has been granted.
    • Successful completion of 100 hours of approved study and the examination offered by the course provider in the use of therapeutic pharmaceutical agents and the removal of superficial foreign bodies from an eye or an appendage to the eye; or successfully complete the TMOD examination; and
    • Submittal of a complete application with required documentation.  No fee is charged for a TPA certificate.

In order to practice with therapeutic pharmaceutical agents that are controlled substances, an optometrist must obtain a DEA number.


Application for Licensure

FormDescription
598

Application For Optometrist License
2829

Malpractice Suits or Claims Form (If applicable)
2252

​Convictions and Pending Charges
3071​Fax Payment Form

Application for Certification for DPA/TPA

FormDescription
1161​DPA/TPA Certification Application
1728​TPA Adverse Reaction Report

Renewal Information

Requirements

  • FEE (See Renewal Dates and Fees)
  • SIG (Signature regarding the completion of Continuing Education, included in on-line renewal and paper form - see Continuing Education Information for details)
  • If your legal status as a qualified alien or nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States has changed since the issuance of your credential or your last renewal, please contact the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services at (608) 266-2112 or dsps@wisconsin.gov.

Renewal Methods

  • Online Log In: License Renewal Online
  • Request a Paper Renewal Form: (888) 506‑4239 or (608) 261‑4460 for the Madison area
FormDescription
RDAFRenewal Dates and Fees
R210Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension

Wisconsin Act 210 (effective June 1, 2012)

This Act extends the license of a service member if the license expires while they are on active duty from 90 days to 180 days from the date of discharge. The same applies to a spouse of a service member if the spouse does not practice under their license while the service member is on active duty and does not practice because the service member is on active duty.

This Act repeals a provision of prior law that required a service member to meet all of the requirements for license extension or renewal, except for continuing education requirements, in order to have the license extended.

Service members and spouses may request extensions of licenses beyond 180 days from discharge and may request a waiver or extension of time to complete continuing education requirements due to hardship. Please view Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension Form #R210.