License Information

Per Wis. Stat. § 440.08 (2), the required renewal date for the Psychologist credential is 09/30/odd years.  Should you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to this date, you are still required to renew your license by the statutorily defined date.

Methods of Application (see application Form #634 for grid of requirements for each method)

  • Exam: For applicants who do not currently hold a Psychology license.
  • Reciprocity: For applicants who hold a Psychologist license in another state or jurisdiction.
  • American Board of Professional Psychology Diploma: Applicant who possess a ABPP diploma

Pre-Credential Education Information

Applicant must have graduated from a regionally accredited institution with a doctoral degree in psychology.

Complete supervised experience.

  • One year of supervised experience following conferral of the doctoral degree. 
  • The person supervising the applicant must have a psychologist license. See Psy 2.09(3), Wis. Stats., for a more complete description of supervised experience requirements.

Application for Licensure

634Application for License to Practice Psychology
2829Malpractice Suits or Claims Form (if applicable)
​2555​Supervisor's Affidavit of Applicant's Post-Doctoral Supervised Experience
2252​Convictions and Pending Charges
3071​Fax Payment Form

Renewal Information


  • FEE (See Renewal Dates and Fees)
  • SIG (Signature regarding the completion of Continuing Education, included in on-line renewal and paper form see Continuing Education Information for details)
  • If your legal status as a qualified alien or nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States has changed since the issuance of your credential or your last renewal, please contact the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services at (608) 266-2112 or
  • PLEASE NOTE:  Attesting to being permanently retired during renewal waives the Continuing Education requirement, and updates the license status to "Non-Practicing" per PSY 4.02 (h)(i).  Non-practicing licenses are current, but not eligible for practice.  Non-practicing status must be renewed every biennium.

Renewal Methods

  • Online Log In: License Renewal Online
  • Request a Paper Renewal Form: (888) 506‑4239 or (608) 261‑4460 for the Madison area
RDAFRenewal Dates and Fees
R210Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension

Wisconsin Act 210 (effective June 1, 2012)

This Act extends the license of a service member if the license expires while they are on active duty from 90 days to 180 days from the date of discharge. The same applies to a spouse of a service member if the spouse does not practice under their license while the service member is on active duty and does not practice because the service member is on active duty.

This Act repeals a provision of prior law that required a service member to meet all of the requirements for license extension or renewal, except for continuing education requirements, in order to have the license extended.

Service members and spouses may request extensions of licenses beyond 180 days from discharge and may request a waiver or extension of time to complete continuing education requirements due to hardship. Please view Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension Form #R210.