2017 Wisconsin Act 278, beginning August 1, 2018, prior to submitting an application for a credential, an individual may apply to the Department for a determination of whether the individual would be disqualified from obtaining the credential due to his or her conviction record. To apply for a predetermination, please fill out
Form #3085 and submit all required documentation specified on the form. Pursuant to
Wis. Stat. §
111.335(4)(e), the offenses or kinds of offenses that may result in a refusal, bar, or termination of licensure are published under Additional Resources on the left side of this page.
Pursuant to 2017 Wisconsin Act 319, beginning August 1, 2018, an applicant for an initial credential may apply for a reduction of the initial credential fee that is equal to 10% of the initial fee. Qualification is based on the federal adjusted gross income being at or below 180% of the federal poverty guideline prescribed for the applicant's family household size by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. To determine eligibility please visit the United States Department of Health and Human Services website at https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines, prior to submitting Form 3217.
Per Wisconsin State Statutes 440.08 (2), the required renewal date for the Certified General Appraiser credential is 12/14/odd years. Should you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to this date, you are still required to renew your license by the statutorily defined date.
Wis. Admin. Code § SPS 85.700. Once your application and experience forms are received, you will be asked to submit appraisal reports for review.
These reports will be reviewed for USPAP compliance.
Before applying for licensure an applicant must complete the required experience per
A Licensed Appraiser requires 2,000 hours in no less than 12 months.
A Certified Residential Appraiser requires 2,500 hours in no less than 24 months.
A Certified General Appraiser requires 3,000 hours in no less than 30 months.
Please see Form 2757 below for helpful information on achieving your experience hours.
Pre-Credential Education Information
A bachelor’s degree in any field and completion of a program of study for certified residential appraisers of at least 200 hours of instruction covering topics indicated in
Wis. Admin. Code § SPS 85.420.
A list of approved courses can be found below.
Note: Courses that have been approved by the AQB do not require separate approval. Please visit
AQB-Approved (CAP) Course Listing for the most current list.
Application for Licensure (Including Temporary Registration)
1749||Application for Real Estate Appraiser License|
|3217||Application for Fee Reduction (This form must accompany the application for the credential)|
1750||Real Estate Appraisal Experience|
2106||Real Estate Appraisal Experience Roster|
2687||Authorization for Release of FBI Information|
2061||Application for Temporary Registration as a Real Estate Appraiser|
|3085||Application for Predetermination|
2252||Convictions and Pending Charges|
3071||Fax Payment Form|
APED||Appraiser Qualifying Education Courses|
2757||WI Real Estate Appraiser Board Recommendations for the Student Appraiser Applicant|
Application by Reinstatement (License Expired Five Years or More)
If you have an AQB complaint license in any state follow the procedure on the Application for Real Estate Appraiser License form #1749 for Reinstatement Applicants.
If you do not have an AQB compliant license in any state refer to the "Initial Applicant" procedure on form #1749.