2017 Wisconsin Act 278, beginning August 1, 2018, prior to submitting an application for a credential, an individual may apply to the Department for a determination of whether the individual would be disqualified from obtaining the credential due to his or her conviction record. To apply for a predetermination, please fill out
Form #3085 and submit all required documentation specified on the form. Pursuant to
Wis. Stat. §
111.335(4)(e), the offenses or kinds of offenses that may result in a refusal, bar, or termination of licensure are published under Additional Resources on the left side of this page.
Wis. Stat. § 440.08 (2), the required renewal date for the Independent Social Worker credential is 02/28/odd years. Should you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to this date, you are still required to renew your license by the statutorily defined date.
Pursuant to 2017 Wisconsin Act 319, beginning August 1, 2018, an applicant for an initial credential may apply for a reduction of the initial credential fee that is equal to 10% of the initial fee. Qualification is based on the federal adjusted gross income being at or below 180% of the federal poverty guideline prescribed for the applicant's family household size by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. To determine eligibility please visit the United States Department of Health and Human Services website at https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines, prior to submitting Form 3217.
- Complete 2 years of supervised practice.
- Upon completion of education and after receiving certification as an APSW, engage in at least 3000 hours of supervised social work practice approved by the Social Worker Section of full-time supervised social work practice approved by the Social Worker Section.
- An applicant for permanent licensure may apply for a temporary license at the same time.
- The temporary license may be issued to an individual who pays the required fee and meets all the qualifications for the permanent license except for passing the required national examination.
- The temporary license expires upon notification of successful completion of the national examination or expiration of the 9-month period, whichever is earlier.
ASWB to register for the national exam. (Applicants have the option of taking the national exam prior to graduation.) The exam for this level is called the ASWB Advanced Generalist examination (formerly Advanced level Exam).
Applicants for licensure must have received a master's degree in social work from a program accredited by, or a pre-accreditation program of, the
Council on Social Work Education or a doctoral degree in social work.
Application for Licensure
1992||Application for Independent Social Worker (Must complete supervised work experience section on page 2 of Form #1992)|
|4211||Information for Social Work Application Completion|
|3217||Application for Fee Reduction (If applying for a fee reduction, this form must accompany the application for the credential.)|
1978||Certificate of Professional Education (This form must be sent to DSPS directly from your school) |
|2992||Supervisor's Affidavit of Independent Social Worker Supervised Pre-Certification Practice (for Independent Social Worker applicants only)|
||Malpractice Suits or Claims Form (If applicable)|
3085||Application for Predetermination|
2252||Convictions and Pending Charges|
3071||Fax Payment Form|
|3219||Application for Late Renewal After Five or More Years|
Application for Substance Abuse Specialty
|2711||Application For Substance Abuse Specialty Authorization|
|2712||Affidavit Regarding Supervised Experience for Substance Abuse Specialty Authorization|
|2713||Substance Abuse Specialty Authorization Education and Training Form (Social Work and Independent Social Work)|
|2714||Substance Abuse Specialty Authorization Education and Training Form (Advanced Practice Social Work)|