Dentistry Examining Board

The Dentistry Examining Board is created in Wis. Stat. § 15.405(6) and has authority as outlined in Wis. Stat. ch. 447.

Contact: Christian Albouras, Executive Director


The members of the Dentistry Examining Board are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Legislature to serve 4-year terms. The Board consists of 6 licensed dentists, 3 licensed dental hygienists and 2 public members.

MemberOfficerMember TypeTerm Expiration
​Bistan, Matthew R.​Chairperson​Dentist Member​7/1/2021
​Pietz, Wendy M.​Vice Chairperson​Dentist Member​7/1/2021
Myers, Dennis​SecretaryPublic Member​7/1/2020
​Bahr, Lisa R.​Dental Hygienist Member​7/1/2022
Govani, Shaheda G. M.​​Dentist Member7/1/2022
Huck, LeonardoDentist Member​7/1/2021
​Kaske, Herbert M.​Dentist Member​7/1/2022
​Schrubbe, Katherine​Dental Hygienist Member​7/1/2022
Sheil​d, Peter J.
​Dentist Member​7/1/2022
Whalen, Diana L.

​​Dental Hygienist Member
VacantPublic Member

*Board Members whose terms have expired may continue to serve until their successor is confirmed by the Senate.



Dentist Continuing Education – New Requirement

Effective as of 10/1/2017, pursuant to DE 13.03 (1m), the 30 credit hours of continuing education shall include 2 hours in the topic of responsible prescribing of controlled substances for the treatment of acute dental pain.  This first applies to the biennium ending in 2019.


​Best Practices for Prescribing Controlled Substances Guidelines

On October 1, 2016, Chapter DE 10, Mobile Dentistry was created:
Chapter DE 10

Please review the following update:
NTSB Information on Risk of Pilot Impairment

Last updated: 3/2/2020​