Perfusionists Examining Council

The Perfusionists Examining Council is created in Wis. Stat. § 15.407(2m), and shares authority with the Medical Examining Board as outlined in Wis. Stat. § 448.40.

Contact: Valerie Payne, Executive Director


The professional members of the Perfusionists Examining Council are appointed by the Medical Examining Board, the public member is appointed by the Governor, and all members are appointed to to a 3-year term. The Board consists of 3 licensed perfusionist members, 1 physician who is a cardiothoracic surgeon or a cardiovascular anesthesiologist, and 1 public member.

MemberOfficerMember TypeTerm Expiration
Mergen, Shawn E.ChairpersonPerfusionist Member7/1/2014*
Tsarovsky, Gary
Vice Chairperson
Perfusionist Member
​Edwards, Jeffery P.
​Perfusionist Member
Cobb, David F.Public Member​7/1/2013**
​Physician Member

​*The Perfusionist members are appointed by the Medical Examining Board; these members may continue to serve until the Board takes formal action to appoint a successor regardless of term expiration.

**The public member of the Council is subject to gubernatorial appointment; a public member whose term has expired may continue to serve until their successor is confirmed by the Senate.


None at this time.

Last updated: 1/30/2020​