2017 Wisconsin Act 278, beginning August 1, 2018, prior to submitting an application for a credential, an individual may apply to the Department for a determination of whether the individual would be disqualified from obtaining the credential due to his or her conviction record. To apply for a predetermination, please fill out
Form #3085 and submit all required documentation specified on the form. Pursuant to
Wis. Stat. §
111.335(4)(e), the offenses or kinds of offenses that may result in a refusal, bar, or termination of licensure are published under Additional Resources on the left side of this page.
Pursuant to 2017 Wisconsin Act 319, beginning August 1, 2018, an applicant for an initial credential may apply for a reduction of the initial credential fee that is equal to 10% of the initial fee. Qualification is based on the federal adjusted gross income being at or below 180% of the federal poverty guideline prescribed for the applicant's family household size by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. To determine eligibility please visit the United States Department of Health and Human Services website at https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines, prior to submitting Form 3217.
Wis. Stat. § 440.08 (2), the required renewal date for the Hydrologist credential is 07/31/even years. Should you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to this date, you are still required to renew your license by the statutorily defined date.
Pre-Credential Education Information
Applicants must have professional experience in hydrologic work, as described in
Wis. Admin. Code § GHSS 3.03, of a character satisfactory to the examining board which demonstrates that the applicant is qualified to assume responsible charge of hydrology work. This experience shall be at least:
5 years, of which at least 2 years has been performed under the supervision of a person who is registered as a professional hydrologist in Wisconsin, or in another state or territory or possession of the United States, or in another country that has registration requirements for professional hydrologists that are substantially equivalent to the requirements in Wisconsin, or any other person determined to be qualified to have responsible charge of hydrologic work, OR
7 years, (or 6 years with an advanced degree) with a satisfactory evaluation of the last 2 years of the experience under a peer review system approved by the Professional Hydrologist Section of the board.
One year of experience may be granted if an individual has one or more advanced degrees, approved by the examining board, in geology, geophysics, geochemistry, hydrogeology, engineering geology, geotechnical engineering, or a related geological science or a closely related field.
An applicant must have a bachelor degree reflecting that the applicant has completed at least 30 semester hours or 45 quarter hours of course credits in hydrology or water resources of a variety and nature sufficient to constitute a major in hydrology, granted by a college or university accredited by a regional accrediting agency approved by the state board of education in the state in which the college or university is located, or accredited by a Canadian accrediting agency satisfactory to the board.
Application for Licensure
All new applicants must submit Application for Fundamentals and Principles and Practice Examinations (Form #2452) all supporting documents and fee to the Department to determine eligibility for the exam.
2452||Application for Fundamentals and Principles and Practice Examinations|
|2084||Application for Geologist, Hydrologist, or Soil Scientist License|
|3217||Application for Fee Reduction (If applying for a fee reduction, this form must accompany the application for the credential.)|
2849||Peer Review Evaluation Form|
2913||Supervised Experience Evaluation Form|
|2086||Applicant Appraisal Form (5 Appraisal Forms Required)|
2391||Verification of Examination or Registration|
3085||Application for Predetermination|
2252||Convictions and Pending Charges|
3071||Fax Payment Form|
Application for Late Renewal (License Expired Five Years or More)
2722|| Application for Late Renewal (License Expired Five Years of More)|
2723|| Applicant Appraisal Form for Late Renewal (3 Appraisal Forms Required) (License Expired Five Years or More)|
2392|| Experience Record|
2391|| Verification of Examination or Registration|