Licensed Practical Nurse

Pursuant to 2017 Wisconsin Act 278, beginning August 1, 2018, prior to submitting an application for a credential, an individual may apply to the Department for a determination of whether the individual would be disqualified from obtaining the credential due to his or her conviction record.  To apply for a predetermination, please fill out Form #3085 and submit all required documentation specified on the form.  Pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 111.335(4)(e), the offenses or kinds of offenses that may result in a refusal, bar, or termination of licensure are published under Additional Resources on the left side of this page.


License Information

Fee Reduction

Pursuant to 2017 Wisconsin Act 319, beginning August 1, 2018, an applicant for an initial credential may apply for a reduction of the initial credential fee that is equal to 10% of the initial fee.  Qualification is based on the federal adjusted gross income being at or below 180% of the federal poverty guideline prescribed for the applicant's family household size by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. To determine eligibility please visit the United States Department of Health and Human Services website at https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines, prior to submitting Form 3217.

As of June 11, 2018, at 12:01 a.m. CST, any nurse with the multi-state privilege will no longer be able to practice nursing in the state of Rhode Island under the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) or the Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC). In order to practice nursing in Rhode Island, you must obtain a Rhode Island nursing license.

Per Wisconsin State Statutes 440.08 (2), the required renewal date for the Licensed Practical Nurse credential is 04/30/odd years.  Should you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to this date, you are still required to renew your license by the statutorily defined date.

OLAS (Online Licensure Application System) is available to WI Board of Nursing-approved schools only.

Exam Applicants

You must also register for the NCLEX Exam.

To be eligible for a WI multi-state license, your primary state of residency must be Wisconsin or you must indicate on the application that you plan on moving to Wisconsin. 

Temporary Permit and Examination

  • Before sitting for the examination, an applicant may receive a temporary permit.  Completion of all requirements, except examination, and payment of a $10.00 fee are required to receive a temporary permit.
  • Completion of all requirements, except examination, payment of a $10.00 fee and completed Form 2434 are required to receive a temporary permit.

Licensure By Endorsement (Applicant who Holds an Active License in Another State)

  • To be eligible for a WI multi-state license, your primary state of residency must be Wisconsin or you must indicate on the application that you plan on moving to Wisconsin. 

  • Verification of their initial state license and a current state license is required. If initial state license is still active only one license verification is needed.  If the license(s) needed are verifiable through NURSYS (i.e. the state(s) that participate in the NURSYS Nurse Licensure Verification Service. States participating can be found here: https://www.nursys.com/NLV/NLVJurisdictions.aspx) the applicant should not need a temporary permit.

Nurse Refresher Course Information (for Endorsement or Re-Registration Applicants - this does not apply to Exam applicants)

  •  An applicant, who does not have current nursing education or has not been employed in a position that requires a nursing license within the last five (5) years, may apply to the Board for a limited license to enable the applicant to complete a nursing refresher course(s) approved by the Board. Upon successful completion of an approved nursing refresher course(s), the license holder may petition the Board for full licensure. Board Approved Nursing Refresher Courses can be found below

Information for Providers

  • To have a nursing refresher course considered for approval, it is necessary to submit the course curriculum along with a completed and signed request form, Request for Approval of a Nursing Refresher Course,  Form 3066OEE.  If the course is approved, it will be added to the list of approved nursing refresher courses posted to the DSPS website (please see web links to lists below).

NCLEX Annual Pass Rates

Wisconsin Administrative Code Chapter N 1.09 lists information and requirements for meeting NCLEX pass rate standards for professional nursing schools and practical nursing schools.

PLEASE NOTE: The Board of Nursing shall consider both the Registered Nurse (RN) NCLEX and Practical Nurse (PN) NCLEX annual pass rates when evaluating a school of professional nursing that grants a certificate of completion for practical nursing.

2017 NCLEX Pass Rates - Board Approved RN Schools

2017 NCLEX Pass Rates - Board Approved PN Schools


Pre-Credential Education Information

Completion of 2 years of high school or its equivalent and diploma from accredited school for licensed practical nurses approved by board.


Nursing School/Education Information

  • Form 1004 - Clinical Facility Selection and Simulated Setting Experiences
  • Form 1114 - Faculty/Educational Administrator Qualification Record
  • Form 2662 - Request For Faculty Exception
  • Form 3025 - Request For Authorization to Plan a Nursing School
  • Form 3027 - Request For Authorization to Admit Students to a Nursing School
  • Form 3028 - Nursing Program Self-Evaluation Report for Continuation of Approval
    (Due to DSPS by 1/31/18) 
  • Form 3029 - Nursing School Self-Evaluation Report for Initial Board of Nursing Approval
  • Form 3031 - Guidelines for Nursing School Approval and Refresher Course Approval
  • Form 3067OEE - Request for Approval of Out-of-State School of Nursing
  • Form 3069OEE - Out-of-State Nursing School Self-Evaluation Report for Continuation of Approval
    (Due to DSPS by 1/31/18)

Profession Forms

FormDescription
Nursing Refresher CoursesBoard Approved Nursing Refresher Course
Approved In-state Nursing Schools​Approved In-state Nursing Schools
Approved Out-of-state Nursing Schools​Approved Out-of-state Nursing Schools
2193

Wisconsin Act 146 - 72 hour Practice Exception

Application for Licensure

OLAS (Online Licensure Application System) Exam applicants from WI Board of Nursing-approved schools only

FormDescription
3087Application for Registered Nurse/Licensed Practical Nurse Licensure
3217​Application for Fee Reduction (This form must accompany the application for the credential)
3210​Applicant's with a current Registered Nurse/Licensed Practical Nurse single-state Wisconsin license
2434Temporary Permit Request For Registered Nurse or Licensed Practical Nurse Exam candidates only.
​259​WI Board-Approved Statement of Graduation or Completion Exam candidates graduating from WI Board-approved schools only.
3049​Wisconsin Act 114 Certificate of Approval to take Examination Exam candidates only. (Only needed if requesting permission to take NCLEX prior to completion of nursing program.)
​1055​Professional Nurse Retake Application for Licensure by Examination You must also re-register with NCLEX.
2829Malpractice Suits or Claims Form (if applicable)
​​Authorization for Release of FBI Information
​3085​Application for Predetermination
2252​Convictions and Pending Charges
3071Fax Payment Form

Renewal Information

Requirements

  • FEE (See Renewal Dates and Fee)
  • SVY (Nursing Workforce Survey* is required to renew).  For more details, read the 2017 Survey FAQs. 
  • RES (Report State of Primary Residency)
  • If your legal status as a qualified alien or nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States has changed since the issuance of your credential or your last renewal, please contact the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services at (608) 266-2112 or dsps@wisconsin.gov.

*On November 14, 2013, the Wisconsin Board of Nursing moved to allow the DSPS and the DWD to accept a shortened version of the survey outside of the active renewal cycle, which begins 7-8 weeks prior to the renewal deadline.  After the renewal deadline, licensees will need to complete the shortened survey to fulfill the renewal requirements.  The shortened version of the survey will be incorporated into the renewal questions and will not be provided as a separate link.

The survey is mandated under Chapter 106.30 of the Wisconsin Statutes for all licensed practical nurses in Wisconsin. 

Wisconsin is a member of the Nurse Licensure Compact, please visit the NCSBN website for more details.

Renewal Methods

  • Online Log In: License Renewal Online
  • Request a Paper Renewal Form: (888) 506‑4239 or (608) 261‑4460 for the Madison area
FormDescription
RDAFRenewal Dates and Fees
R210Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension

Wisconsin Act 210 (effective June 1, 2012)

This Act extends the license of a service member if the license expires while they are on active duty from 90 days to 180 days from the date of discharge. The same applies to a spouse of a service member if the spouse does not practice under their license while the service member is on active duty and does not practice because the service member is on active duty.

This Act repeals a provision of prior law that required a service member to meet all of the requirements for license extension or renewal, except for continuing education requirements, in order to have the license extended.

Service members and spouses may request extensions of licenses beyond 180 days from discharge and may request a waiver or extension of time to complete continuing education requirements due to hardship. Please view Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension Form R210.